Governance bodies

The governance bodies of the institute are the directorate, the scientific advisory board and the board of trustees.


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Marc Wolfram (also Chair of Spatial Development and Transformation, TU Dresden)

Scientific Advisory Board

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Birkmann
    University of Stuttgart
    Institute of Spatial and Regional Planning
    Member 01/07/2017 (chairman since 08/2020)
  • Prof. Dr. Paul Gans
    Vice Chairman
    University of Mannheim,
    Chair of Economic Geography
    Member since 01/07/2015
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Bernard
    Technische Universität Dresden
    Chief Officer Digitalisation and Information
    Chair of Geoinformatics
    Member since 01/06/2019
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Fürst
    Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
    Chair of Sustainable Landscape Development
    Member since 01/06/2021
  • Prof. Dr. Annika Mattissek
    University of Freiburg
    Institut für Umweltsozialwissenschaften und Geographie, Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsgeographie und Nachhaltige Entwicklung
    Member since 01/01/2018
  • Prof. Dr. Izabela Mironowicz
    Politechnika Gdańska (Gdańsk University of Technology)
    Faculty of Architecture, Chair in Urban Design and Regional Planning
    Member since 01/06/2019
  • Prof. Merritt Polk
    University of Gothenburg, Sweden
    Faculty of Social Science
    Head of Department der School of Global Studies
    Member since 01/07/2020
  • Prof. Dr. Holger Wallbaum
    Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg
    Chair of Sustainable Building
    Member since 01/06/2021

Board of Trustees

  • Axel Bergmann
    Saxon State Ministry of Science, Arts and Tourism
  • Almuth Draeger
    Vice Chairperson
    Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community
  • Prof. Dr. Roswitha Böhm
    Dresden University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Wendelin Strubelt